Brian Moran Resigns From General Assembly To Advance His Run For Governor

Governor 2009
 

Friends,

Today I’ve made a major decision about my campaign for Governor and wanted you to be the first to know. Serving as a member of the House of Delegates and as Chairman of the House Democratic Caucus has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. It has given me the opportunity fight for a stronger economy, quality education, and a better future for our children.

For the past 12 years I have represented Alexandria and Fairfax residents to the best of my ability. Yet as the new year begins, I will be campaigning full time across Virginia, sharing my vision for our future. They deserve the full attention of their representative in the legislative work this coming year.

That is why I wrote Governor Kaine to inform him of my decision to resign from the House of Delegates. I have come to this decision after long deliberation and discussions with my family. 

While the decisions made in the coming 45-day General Assembly session are important, the leadership of Virginia for the next four years is even more critical. Today’s troubled times demand proven leadership. I believe that the best thing I can do for the people of Alexandria, Fairfax and the entire state, is to win this campaign for Governor.

From the day we began this campaign, Virginians have responded. In recent weeks I have been endorsed by leaders from across the Commonwealth, including the majority of my Party’s executive committee. I value the support of some of Virginia’s finest public servants and look forward to earning the votes of every Virginian.

This will be a long campaign against difficult opponents. Yet for nearly two decades, I have been fighting for Virginia. My career is an unfolding story of dedication to the people of our Commonwealth. I have fought for Virginia’s needs, and I share Virginia’s values. I have a vision for our future and the record, experience, and leadership to win this campaign and govern our great Commonwealth.

Thank you for your support, advice and friendship. I look forward to working with you as we write Virginia’s next chapter.

Your friend,

 

 

 

Brian Moran

One Response to Brian Moran Resigns From General Assembly To Advance His Run For Governor

  1. virginiadem says:

    GOVERNOR KAINE SETS SPECIAL ELECTION DATE FOR 46th HOUSE OF DELEGATES DISTRICT

    RICHMOND – Governor Timothy M. Kaine has set Tuesday, January 13, 2009, as the date for voters in the 46th House of Delegates District to participate in a special election to select a successor to former Delegate Brian J. Moran.

    “The residents of the 46th District deserve to have their voice heard in the General Assembly when it convenes in January,” Governor Kaine said. “Holding the special election on January 13th will ensure that the needs and interests of these residents are represented in the legislative process.”

    The 46th House District includes part of Alexandra and part of Fairfax County . The deadline for candidates to file to run for the 46th District seat is December 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

