Obama’s Re-election Campaign Announces Virginia Truth Team

Richmond, Va.  – Today, Obama for America Virginia held a press conference with Sen. Don McEachin, Sen. John Edwards, Sen. Mamie Locke, Sen. Adam Ebbin and Delegate Charniele Herring to launch the Virginia Truth Team, a group of key community leaders committed to promoting the President’s achievements, responding to unfounded attacks on his record, and holding Republicans accountable for their actions.

“If you look at where we were as a nation three years ago and compare it to where we are today, there is no doubt that President Obama has put our nation back on track,” said Congressman Gerry Connolly. “From day one, the President has taken action to create jobs and lay the foundation for a strong economy, and it is critical that we make sure that Virginia voters know the truth about how he has delivered on his promises and continues to fight to restore middle class security for Virginia families.”

“The election is still nine months away, but the Republicans and their special interest allies have already launched unfounded, dishonest attacks to try to smear the President’s record,” said Democratic Party of Virginia Chairman Brian Moran. “They will say anything they can to win and bring back the reckless policies that nearly destroyed our nation—but we’re here to make sure that Virginians are armed with the facts.”

The announcement of the Virginia Truth Team is part of a national campaign rollout, which includes the launch of the new website www.barackobama.com/truthteam to allow every American the opportunity to be a part of a Truth Team. The website will serve as a central hub for supporters to have access to facts about the President’s record, as well as the tools to share that message with other voters.

Members of the Virginia Truth Team, which will continue to grow as the campaign moves forward, include:
Brian Moran, Democratic Party of Virginia Chairman
Rep. Gerry Connolly, VA-11
Rep. Bobby Scott, VA-3
Rep. Jim Moran, VA-8
Richmond Mayor Dwight C. Jones
Don McEachin, Democratic Caucus Leader, State Senate
David Toscano, Minority Leader, Virginia House of Delegates
State Senator Mamie Locke, VA-2
State Senator John Edwards, VA-21
State Senator Louise Lucas, VA-18
State Senator Adam Ebbin, VA-30
Delegate Scott Surovell, VA-44
Delegate Charniele Herring, VA-46
Delegate Jennifer McClellan, VA-71
Delegate Mark Keam, VA-35
Gaylene Kanoyton, First Vice-Chair of DPVA, Hampton Democratic Committee Chair
Fred Hudson, Second Vice-Chair of DPVA, 5th District Chair
Cesar del Aguila, Fairfax County Democratic Committee Chair
Steve Cochran, Montgomery County Democratic Committee Chair
Former State Senator Mary Margaret Whipple
Paula Miller, Former State Delegate

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: