The end of Rakan’s War

This Sunday I urge you to take the time to read the story of Rakan Hassan covered by Boston.com and a very thoughtful blog by TeacherKen on Daily Kos

The end of Rakan’s war
by teacherken [Subscribe]

Sun Aug 03, 2008 at 04:12:01 AM PDT

I will not quote a single word. But I want to warn you. I am going to insist that if you do nothing else today you need to follow the link I am about to give you. It is the lead story in today’s Boston Globe. It is about a boy only a bit younger than the student whose death on Friday inspired me to write my diary yesterday.

And why do I warn you? Because the story will and should trouble you. You are going to be affected, if you still have a heart.

Only after you have read it should you consider going below the fold to read anything additional I might have to offer. And doing so, or recommending this, or commenting, are totally unnecessary, although I will welcome you if you proceed.

But now, please, I insist. Follow this link, being sure to read the entire article.

Leave a comment